Facebook changes deletion policy

By | February 13, 2008

Quitting Facebook just got easier – NY Times

In the wake of the recent controversy, including NY Times coverage, Facebook has announced it will delete users permanently upon request.

The request must be made through a form on a revised Help page:

The updated Facebook help page now includes the question “How do I delete my account?” The answer: “If you do not think you will use Facebook again and would like your account deleted, we can take care of this for you. Keep in mind that you will not be able to reactivate your account or retrieve any of the content or information you have added.”

The entry then says, “If you would like your account deleted, please contact us using the form at the bottom of the page and confirm your request in the text box.”

This is a good move. I’m a bit more comfortable now. Though the generic warning to users to be careful what you post still stands (after all, anyone could copy anything you post), it’s good to know that at least the company I’m trusting with my data isn’t going to be the one using it without my permission.

[tags]Facebook, privacy[/tags]

Leave a Reply